Where to now?

Tena koutou.

I have decided to take a ‘sabbatical’ next year and will be busy running a business and developing new educational programmes for the Early Childhood Centre I have shares in. This leaves my post here at the computer face developing online resources up for grabs in the Learning Centre and I’m hoping one or more of my colleagues will fill the breach (William you read my blog don’t you?) I must say I have become very encouraged this year to see more Otago Polytechnic staff coming on board with Blogs and wiki’s and I am delighted that some of them (Leigh and David in particular) have actually started working collaboratively with me in creating resources which are useful to all of us. I’ll remind you where these are again in case you have forgotten;

This Page: http://wikieducator.org/Develop_skills_for_tertiary_study

and this page: http://wikieducator.org/Computer_Literacy_Resources

Also it has been great to see other academic staff (Hillary Jenkins and Dave) actually making use of some of the resources I have put up on the wiki. Yeeha that’s what I’m talking about!

I have seen a lot of duplication of resources and reinvention of the wheel since I have been here at OP and nationally through my professional association, ATLAANZ and it is really great that we now have the vehicle (wikieducator or other wiki platforms) to share, collaborate and co-operate. Thanks to Leigh Blackall for introducing us to this technology. It is due to his enthusiasm that Otago Polytechnic is now at the forefront of online delivery in New Zealand. I didn’t know what a blog or a wiki was a year ago either.

Anyway, I think my mission next year might be to get ATLAANZ on board with using wiki’s and contributing to wikieducator and the Commonwealth of Learning. I was recently at an ATLAANZ conference and it is plainly obvious that this is what we need. We could be researching collaboratively online.

Even though I won’t be coming in to the office next year I will still be maintaining an interest in this project and am happy to communicate online through this blog or email groups.

Kia kaha, ka kite ano.

2 responses to “Where to now?

  1. Hi Helen

    Yes, I am reading your blog now . . . but haven’t had the habit. So in 2008 I shall try and develop several useful such skills šŸ˜‰

  2. Quite sad to see you exit your role for a year Helen, but hope that you’ll have time to keep updating this blog, and reading ours. Also hope that someone as ready and willing as you will replace your role for the year… thanks for giving it a go and helping to prove the concept a little šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

